Research collaborators

Key University of Edinburgh Researchers

  • Dr Wasiu O. Popoola

    Chancellor's Fellow, Institute for Digital Communications, School of Engineering, university of Edinburgh

    Popoola's area of research is communication systems engineering, fibre communication and free-space optics, and he provides support to the research members and projects.

  • Dr Robert Henderson

    Reader, CMOS Sensors and Systems Group, School of Engineering

    Robert’s research interests are CMOS integrated circuit design, imaging and biosensors. He has led research resulting in the first single photon avalanche diode (SPAD) in nanometer CMOS technology.

  • Dr Tharmalingam Ratnarajah

    Reader, Signal Processing and Communications, School of Engineering

    Tharm’s areas of research are: random matrix theory and its application to signal processing communications and information theory; massive MIMO; interference alignment; and physical layer secrecy. He is currently the co-ordinator of two EU FP7 projects, HARP researching highly distributed MIMO, and ADEL researching dynamic spectrum access.

  • Dr Majid Safari

    Lecturer in Digital Communications, School of Engineering

    Majid’s research areas include novel MIMO and cooperative/relaying techniques for energy-efficient, and high-speed atmospheric optical links suitable for terrestrial or satellite applications. His research has also addressed unconditionally secure communication through quantum cryptography.

  • Professor John Thompson

    Professor, Signal Processing and Communications, School of Engineering

    John’s research interests are: rapid prototyping of MIMO detection algorithms; combining MIMO and relay concepts for wireless; cognitive radio concepts for future wireless systems; and green communications systems and networks. John is coordinator for a new European Marie Curie training project ADVANTAGE.

  • Professor Ian Underwood

    Chair of Electronic Displays, and Head of the Integrated Micro and Nano Systems Research Institute (IMNS) School of Engineering

    Ian is a co-founder of Micro Emissive Displays (MED) and co-inventor of its P-OLED micro display technology, and he is recognised worldwide as an authority on micro display technology, systems and applications.

  • Dr Philip Hands

    Chancellor's Fellow, Integrated Micro and Nano Systems Research Institute (IMNS) School of Engineering

    Philip's research areas are applied photonic materials: tuneable liquid crystal lasers, adaptive liquid crystal lenses; and applied electronic materials: metal-polymer composites, adaptive-focus lenses and holography, which he is working on integrating with future Li-Fi technologies and biomedical applications.

  • Professor Michael O’Boyle

    Director, Institute for Computing Systems Architecture (ICSA),, School of Informatics

    Michael’s research interests include adaptive compiler techniques which allow the compiler to learn about the underlying parallel architecture by exploring a transformation based optimisation space, and machine learning based optimisation.

  • Dr Björn Franke

    Reader, Institute for Computing Systems Architecture (ICSA), School of Informatics

    Björn ‘s research focuses on software tools for embedded systems, in particular optimising and parallelising compilers, instruction set simulators, design space exploration and performance estimation tools.

  • Dr Elham Kashefi

    Reader, Quantum Computing, School of Informatics

    Kashefi's research area covers the potential of quantum information theory from its formal and foundational aspects to actual cryptographic experiments. She is the co-founder of the Quantum Information Scotland Network, and a patent holder in the fields of feasible quantum verification and quantum cloud computing.

Other University Researchers

  • Dr Ian Watson

    University of Strathclyde

    Senior Research Fellow, Institute of Photonics

  • Professor Martin Dawson

    University of Strathclyde

    Director of Research, Institute of Photonics, and Head of Centre, Fraunhofer Centre for Applied Photonics

  • Dr Erdan Gu

    University of Strathclyde

    Associate Director of Research, Institute of Photonics

  • Professor Dominic O’Brien

    University of Oxford

    Professor of Engineering Science, Department of Engineering Science

  • Professor Richard Penty

    University of Cambridge

    Fellow in Engineering, Centre for Photonic Systems

  • Professor Ian White

    University of Cambridge

    van Eck Professor of Engineering, Department of Engineering

  • Professor Ifor Samuel

    University of St. Andrews

    Director of Research, School of Physics and Astronomy

  • Dr Graham Turnbull

    University of St. Andrews

    Reader, School of Physics and Astronomy

Company Collaborators

  • pureLiFi Ltd

    pureLiFi Ltd

    pureLiFi is the world leader in Li-Fi commercialisation and development. The company develops and delivers Li-Fi enabled drivers for LED lights, and device attachments. pureLiFi is an original equipment manufacturer that also provides turn-key solutions through its unique Li-Fi product range.

  • National Instruments

    National Instruments

    National Instruments equips engineers and scientists with tools that accelerate productivity, innovation and discovery. National Instruments combines productive software and reconfigurable hardware platforms to enable engineers to simplify system development and arrive at solutions faster.

  • Alcatel Lucent

    Alcatel Lucent

    Alcatel Lucent are at the forefront of global communications, providing products and innovations in IP and cloud networking, and also ultra-broadband fixed and wireless access. Bell Labs, the technology research institute, is an integral part of the Group.